Epilepsy: Exploring INFORMATION / KNOWLEDGE / EMPOWERMENT MODULE 1: Epilepsy 101 12 References 1. England MJ, Liverman CT, Schultz AM, Strawbridge LM, eds. Epilepsy Across the Spectrum. Promoting Health and Understanding. Washington, DC: Institute of Medicine of the National Academies. The National Academies Press; 2012. 2. Fisher RS, Acevedo C, Arzimanoglou A, et al. ILAE official report: a practical clinical definition of epilepsy. Epilepsia. 2014;55(4):475–482. 3. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. The Epilepsies and Seizures: Hope Through Research. http:// www.ninds.nih.gov/disorders/epilepsy/detail_epilepsy.htm. February 2016. 4. Fisher RS, van Emde Boas W, Blume W, et al. Epileptic seizures and epilepsy: definitions proposed by the International League Against Epilepsy (ILAE) and the International Bureau for Epilepsy (IBE). Epilepsia. 2005;46(4):470–472. 5. Epilepsy Foundation. What Is a Seizure? http://www.epilepsy.com/learn/epilepsy-101/what-seizure. March 2014. 6. World Health Organization. Epilepsy Fact Sheet. http://www.who.int/mediacentre/factsheets/fs999/en/. February 2016. 7. Epilepsy Foundation. What Happens During a Seizure? http://www.epilepsy.com/start-here/about-epilepsy-basics/what- happens-during-seizure. September 2014. 8. Mayo Clinic. Brain Lobes. http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/frontal-lobe-seizures/home/ovc-20246878. Published 2016. 9. International League Against Epilepsy. Parietal Overview. https://www.epilepsydiagnosis.org/seizure/parietal-overview. html. Published 2016. 10. Mayo Clinic. Frontal Lobe Seizures. http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/frontal-lobe-seizures/home/ovc- 20246878. Published 2016. 11. Epilepsy Foundation. Frontal Lobe Epilepsy. http://www.epilepsy.com/learn/types-epilepsy-syndromes/frontal-lobe- epilepsy. September 2013. 12. International League Against Epilepsy. Occipital Overview. https://www.epilepsydiagnosis.org/seizure/occipital-overview. html. Published 2016. 13. Epilepsy Foundation. Temporal Lobe Epilepsy. http://www.epilepsy.com/learn/types-epilepsy-syndromes/temporal-lobe- epilepsy. September 2013. 14. Fisher RS, Cross JH, French JA, et al. Operational classification of seizure types by the International League Against Epilepsy. International League Against Epilepsy: 2016. http://www.ilae.org/visitors/centre/documents/ ClassificationSeizureILAE-2016.pdf. 15. Epilepsy Foundation. Absence Seizures. http://www.epilepsy.com/learn/types-seizures/absence-seizures. March 2014. 16. Epilepsy Foundation. Atonic Seizures. http://www.epilepsy.com/learn/types-seizures/atonic-seizures. March 2014. 17. Epilepsy Foundation. Clonic Seizures. http://www.epilepsy.com/learn/types-seizures/clonic-seizures. March 2014. 18. Epilepsy Foundation. Myoclonic Seizures. http://www.epilepsy.com/learn/types-seizures/myoclonic-seizures. March 2014. 19. Epilepsy Foundation. Tonic Seizures. http://www.epilepsy.com/learn/types-seizures/tonic-seizures. March 2014. 20. Epilepsy Foundation. Tonic-clonic Seizures. http://www.epilepsy.com/learn/treating-seizures-and-epilepsy/first-aid/tonic- clonic-seizures. March 2014. 21. Epilepsy Foundation. New to Epilepsy and Seizures? An Introduction to Epilepsy. http://www.epilepsy.com/start-here/ introduction-epilepsy. September 2016. 22. Hirtz D, Thurman DJ, Gwinn-Hardy K, Mohamed M, Chaudhuri AR, Zalutsky R. How common are the “common” neurologic disorders? Neurology. 2007;68(5):326-337. 23. US Census Bureau. US and World Population Clock. https://www.census.gov/popclock/. 2016. 24. Epilepsy Foundation. Diagnosing Epilepsy. http://www.epilepsy.com/start-here/diagnosis-101/diagnosing-epilepsy. October 2014. 25. Epilepsy Foundation. Diagnosis 101. http://www.epilepsy.com/start-here/diagnosis-101. October 2014.